Your Premium Social Gaming Lounge

New Details on PUBG’s Next Map

PlayerUnknown’s Battlegrounds‘ next map just got a new name and we have the details on the next test server.

The new map has been undergoing some testing in recent weeks under the name Codename: Savage. Now PUBG Corp. has released new details on Steam about the upcoming map. The new 4×4 km island map is inspired by the islands of South East Asia and has officially been named Sanhok. The name is also inspired by the islands of Thailand and the Philippines as the team at PUBG Corp has created its own language to name the map.

PUBG Sanhok

The post explains that The name Sanhok is a combination of two words. First, the Thai word for “fun:” สนุก (pronounced like “sah-nook”) and the second, the Filipino (Tagalog) word for “chicken:” manok (pronounced like “mah-nok”). When the team mixed them up they got Sanhok (pronounced “sah-nok”). So basically the new map is called “FUN CHICKEN”! (exclamation added for effect).

If you want to try out the new map you are in luck. PUBG Corp will be reopening the test server this week for more testing. You will be able to see the “Experimental Server”, formerly “Closed Experimental Server”, in your Steam library sometime soon. All PC players are invited to test the new map and provide feedback to help improve the map.

  • TESTING BEGINS: Thursday, May 10, 7 PM PST / 10 PM EST / FRI May 11, 4 AM CEST / May 11, 11 AM KST
  • TESTING ENDS: Monday, May 14, 4 AM PST / 7 AM EST / May 14, 1 PM CEST / May 14, 8 PM KST

Sanhok is the third map to be added to PUBG since launch joining Erangel and Miramar. It is 4 square km and is made up of various island terrain and includes stone temples and other ruins. The map is currently being developed for PC although will eventually find its way to Xbox One like Miramar which was being tested on Xbox One last month.